“Ugly” Instagram Con Leads to Hacking

Instagram users are reporting a new scam called the “Ugly List.” Instagram users are fooled into thinking a friend tagged them in a mean-spirited prank. However, it’s really a phishing con.

instagram

 
How the Scam Works:

You get an Instagram notification saying you’ve been tagged in a post. The catch? The post is called “Ugly List 2016,” and it was a friend who tagged you. How mean!

In the notification, there’s a link to see the full post. You click on it, and it leads to a page that appears to be the Instagram log in. You need to enter your username and password before you can see the “Ugly List.”

Don’t fall for it! The form is fake. It’s a way for scammers to steal usernames and passwords. Once scammers have your account info, they will hack your Instagram and tag your followers in new “Ugly List” posts, perpetuating the con and stealing more information.

Tips to avoid this con:

Do a quick search. Be wary of anything that is shocking or sensational on social media. If it seems suspicious, do an online search. If it’s a scam, chances are that other victims have posted complaints and information online.

Don’t trust your friends’ tastes online. It might not actually be them “liking” or sharing these scam posts. Their account may have been hacked.

Hover over a link to see its true destination. Before you click, mouse over the link to see where it will take you. Don’t click on links leading to unfamiliar websites.

Report an Instagram scam. Check out Instagram’s resources for reporting scams.

If your account has been hacked, see Instagram’s advice on securing your account and/or reporting the violation.

For More Information

To find out more about other scams, check out BBB Scam Stopper (bbb.org/scam). To report a scam, go to BBB Scam Tracker (bbb.org/scamtracker).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *